Board of Trustees

The Trustees are responsible for the general control, administration and management of the Trust in accordance with the provisions set out in the memorandum and articles of association. The Board of Trustees is the accountable body for the performance of all schools within the Trust.

The current Trustees of the Ted Wragg Multi Academy Trust are:

Rob Bosworth - Vice Principal, Exeter College


Rob is Vice Principal at Exeter College where he strategically leads on Schools, Partnerships & Curriculum. In addition to various governor roles he is a national expert panel member of the Education and Training Foundation, an honorary member of the City & Guilds London Institute and a director at Exeter City Football Club’s Charitable Trust. He also chairs the Greater Exeter Sports Strategy Board and is a member of EXIST.

Debra Myhill - Professor of Education, Exeter University

Vice Chair

Debra Myhill is Professor of Education at the University of Exeter and teaches and researches in Language and Literacy Education. She spends a lot of time visiting classrooms, both in the UK and internationally, and is passionate that education should be a transforming experience for young people from all backgrounds.

Moira Marder - Chief Executive Officer

Accounting Officer

Moira is the Chief Executive Officer of the Ted Wragg Multi Academy Trust having worked in Exeter since 2007 as Deputy and then as Headteacher of St James School. She has a track record of driving school improvement and a particular passion for inclusive education. Moira is a member of the Devon Association of Secondary Heads and is a National Leader of Education.

Alex Walmsley - Retired Accountant

Principal Finance Officer

Alex is a chartered accountant and economics graduate and was for many years managing partner of a local accountancy practice. He is an experienced non-executive director and business advisor. He was appointed a Governor at St James School in 2013 and is keen to use his experience to help the Ted Wragg Multi-Academy Trust continue to thrive. Alex is Chair of First Federation MAT, Director of Genesis MAT, Chair of Devon Association of Governors and represents academies at Devon Education Forum and DAG at Devon's Heads Liaison Group.

Rebecca Mitchell - Environment Lead

Beccy is an experienced leader with a strong breadth of knowledge, having undertaken a range of roles within the public, private and higher education sector. She has particularly strong analytical skills, experience in providing strategic direction and advising on business change. Her current role at the University of Exeter is focussed on the development of partnerships and research impact within the Environment sector, having previously worked as Head of Emerging Markets at the Met Office. Beccy has been a governor at St James School for 3 years, a member of the Finance and Personnel Committee and Health & Safety Link Governor. She became a Trustee in July 2016, and now acts as Link Trustee for St James School.

Saxon Spence CBE - Retired Councillor

Saxon has extensive experience of local government and education at local, regional and national level as an Exeter member of Devon County Council for 36 years, 29 as leader of the Labour Group. She continues to work as a school governor at Newtown Primary School and the Learn to Live Federation, which gives her a particular interest in Spcecial Education. She is a co-opted member of Devon’s SACRE. Outside of education she is actively involved in the Co-operative and Labour Parties, the South West RSA, Fairtrade and the Devon & Cornwall Food Association.

Philip Bostock - Retired Chief Executive

Philip served as Chief Executive of Exeter City Council for 16 years until his retirement in 2013, following a long and wide ranging local government career. He became a governor at Exeter College in 2010 and was Chair of the Board between 2013 and 2017. He was appointed a Deputy Lieutenant of Devon in 2013 and received an Honorary Doctorate (LLD) from the University of Exeter in 2014.

Elaine Hobson - Retired Chief Operating Officer

Elaine's career has been dedicated to the NHS and after completing her nursing training she joined the RD&E hospital in Exeter where she achieved Board level status as Chief Operating Officer. During her time with the RD&E Elaine travelled the world gathering learning to apply to and improve services for patients, their families and carers. Elaine is passionate about the ability of education to transform lives and to expand the potential in people to realise their talents.

Richard Jacobs - Director, South West Metal Finishing

Richard Jacobs is an Exeter Business man, was a magistrate for 23 years and Chairman of the Youth Panel for nine. Richard's focus is on children from disadvantaged backgrounds. He was founder Chairman of the Marsh Barton Forum and the Exeter Business Forum, a member of the Exmouth Regeneration Board and supports the Development Campaign for Exeter Cathedral.

Cllr Rosie Denham

Rosie has been a Councillor on Exeter City Council since 2011 and is currently an Executive Member and Portfolio Holder for City Transformation. Rosie co-founded and ran an Exeter-based British Sign Language training company, having previously worked at Exeter Deaf Academy, and is currently working in PR and Marketing with a focus on small businesses and charities.

Alison Layton-Hill (Company Secretary)

Alison joined the Trust in November 2016 following a career both within the public and private sector. She has wide ranging experience in business management (strategic and operational) and customer relations and is a member of the Institute of Leadership and Management.